PAS Review

PAS Review

A weekly review of the detecting finds recorded at the Portable Antiquities Scheme

Richard II denier

PAS Finds: week ended 10 June 2022

My selection of the detecting finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 10 June 2022. Featured Find Selection

PAS Finds: week ended 3 June 2022

My selection of the detecting finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 3 June 2022. Featured Find Selection

mount of medusa

PAS Finds: week ended 27 May 2022

My selection of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 27 May 2022 include a Nationally Important

Cruciform bead from a beaded torc

PAS Finds: week ended 20 May 2022

Cruciform bead from a torc, Grosso of Doge Giovanni Dandolo, Archbishop Rotherham penny of Richard III

Mount of Henry VI

PAS Finds: week ended 13 may 2022

My selection of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 13 may 2022. Featured Find Selection of

roman gold leaf

PAS Finds: week ended 6 May 2022

My selection of the detecting finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 6 May 2022. Featured Find Selection

Massachusetts three pence

PAS Finds: week ended 29 April 2022

My selection of the finds recorded at the PAS in the week ended 29 April 2022. Featured Find Selection of

Agnus Dei penny brooch

PAS Finds: week ended 22 April 2022

Here is my selection of the detecting finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 22 April 2022 Featured

roman owl figurine

PAS Finds: week ended 15 April 2022

My selection of the detecting finds recorded at the PAS during the week ended 15 April 2022 Featured Find Selection

gold reliquary

PAS Finds: week ended 8 April 2022

My selection of the detecting finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 8 April 2022. Featured Find Selection

figurine of mercury

PAS Finds: week ended 1 April 2022

My selection of the detecting finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 1 April 2022. Featured Find Selection

anglo-saxon pin head

PAS Finds: two weeks ended 25 March 2022

My selection of the finds recorded at the PAS in the two weeks to 25 March 2022 Featured Find Selection

denarius of didia clara

PAS Finds: week ended 11 March 2022

A round-up of some of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 2 April. There were 135

pilgrim badge

PAS Finds: week ended 4 March 2022

My selection of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 4 March 2022. Featured Find Selection of

Anglo-Saxon sword

PAS Finds: week ended 25 February 2022

My selection of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 25 February 2022 Featured Find Selection of

Iron Age Strap Mount

PAS Finds: week ended 18 February 2022

My selection of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 18 February 2022. These include three Finds

Quadruple seal matrix

PAS Finds: week to 11 February 2022

My selection of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ending 11 February 2022. Featured Find Selection of

Hugh Le Despenser weight and coat of arms

PAS Finds: week ended 28 January 2022

A lead weight with the coat of arms of the Despenser family. A powerful dynasty that brought down a king.

PAS Finds: week ended 21 January 2022

Here is my selection of the 427 finds recorded at the PAS in the week ended 21 January 2022. The

Early Anglo-Saxon saucer brooch

PAS Finds: week ended 14 January 2022

My pick of the 448 finds recorded at the PAS during the week. Featured Find Selection of other finds

PAS Finds: week ended 7 January 2022

My selection of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 7 January 2022.  Featured Find Selection of

PAS 2021 year end review: artefacts

This week, I continue my review of finds recorded at PAS during 2021 that I hadn’t covered in my weekly

PAS 2021 year end review: coins

The period around Christmas and New Year is a quiet time for recording finds at the PAS. I’ve been back

PAS Finds: week ended 17 December 2021

My selection of the 360 finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 17 December 2021.  Featured Find Selection

PAS Finds: week ended 10 December 2021

My selection from the 427 finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 10 December 2021.  Featured Find Selection

tail waggers club

PAS Finds: week ended 3 December 2021

A round-up of some of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 3 December 2021. There were

PAS Finds: week ended 26 November 2021

My selection of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 26 November 2021. There were 448 finds

PAS Finds: week ended 19 November 2021

Immaculate heart of Mary pilgrim badge,, Roma key handle, phallic pendant and fish brooch

PAS Finds: week ended 12 November 2021

Flobert style pistol, two Roman hoards and an unusual three quarter cut penny

PAS Finds: week ended 5 November 2021

Iron Age socketed terminal, harness pendant of the Bishops of Winchester and an anthropomorphic strap fitting

PAS Finds: week ended 29 October 2021

A round-up of some of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 29 October 2021. There were

PAS Finds – week ended 22 October 2021

A round-up of some of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 29 October. There were 370

PAS Finds: week ended 8 October 2021

Battle of Cape St Vincent token, penny of Ecgberht, bronze age spearhead and 16th century dress fastener

PAS Finds: week ended 1 October 2021

Silenus strap fitting, iron Age terret ring, medieval horseshoe, roundel dagger pommel and a William III coin hoard

PAS Finds: week ended 24 September 2021

A round-up of some of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 2 April. There were 382 finds

shield boss

PAS Finds: week ended 17 September

A round-up of some of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 17 September 2021. There were

PAS Finds: week ended 10 September 2021

Silver penny of Eadberht Præn, brooch of a Edward III noble, Sutton Hoo style mount and a miniature Roman axe

PAS finds: week ended 3 September 2021

A round-up of some of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 3 September 2021. There were

Silver denarius of Carausius

PAS Finds: week ended 27 August 2021

A round-up of some of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 27 August 2021. There were

Seal Matrix of Priory at Mottisfont

PAS Finds: week ended 20 August 2021

Seal Matrix of the Priory at Mottisfont a gunflint and a stone bracelet

PAS Finds: week ended 13 August 2021

Medieval candle holder, gold posy ring, aesica brooch, silver sewing ring and a medieval horse pendant

PAS Review: week ended 6 August 2021

A selection of PAS finds recorded in the week ended 6 August 2021 . There were 277 finds recorded in

Iron Age Pot

PAS Review: week ended 30 July 2021

A round-up of some of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 30 April 2021. There were

PAS Review: week ended 23 July 2021

A round-up of some of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 23 July 2021. There were

Bronze Age Dagger

PAS Review: week ended 16 July 2021

A round-up of some of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 16 July 2021. There were

PAS Review: week ended 9 July 2021

A round-up of some of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 9 April. There were 322

bronze age axe head

PAS Review: week ended 2 July 2021

Masonic key, “Jupiter” steelyard weight, Medieval gilded chain

PAS Review: week ended 25 June 2021

Figurine of Priapus, intricate design seal box lid, scabbard chape in the form of a bird

PAS Review: week ended 18 June 2021

Medieval eagle harness pendant in excellent condition. Plus a cosmetic mortar and unusual annular brooch

PAS Review: week ended 11 June 2021

A round-up of some of the finds recorded at the PAS for the week ended 11 June. There were 330

Share